14 day recap and results

My 14 day Elemental Diet ended Wednesday afternoon post-doctor appointment. I was very excited and very optimistic, but was fearful to add in solid foods. I added in a small salad and paleo meat/cabbage mixture. It seemed to be okay and didn’t effect me very much aside from a bit of fatigue. Thursday all day I did my 24 hour prep day for the SIBO breath test. I noticed a bit of bloating and discomfort with solid foods. Friday I did my breath test and noticed discomfort, bloating, and slight pain with the lactulose solution. I knew this was not a good sign, but proceeded with the test. To my surprise, the results came back very fast by Saturday evening. Unfortunately, while the elemental diet has an 85% success rate, two weeks did not eradicate my SIBO. My hydrogen numbers dropped from 61 (first time I took the breath test) to 35 (this time). Overall, I choose to take this as successful. Although I wanted SIBO to be gone after these two weeks, I look at a near 50% decrease as successful. I have far further to go, but plan to attack SIBO with a low FODMAP diet, an intense regiment of doTERRA essential oils, and continued use (part of the time) of the elemental diet powder. The antibiotics will never be a choice that I make for myself, and for this reason I may have a harder time getting rid of SIBO. So far, I have actually lost a little weight following a low FODMAP diet, and I feel much better knowing I am not feeding into the SIBO. I will be returning for my last semester of college this week ready to take on SIBO and a full course load. Feel free to contact me if you are curious about my condition or if you just want to know more!

3 thoughts on “14 day recap and results

    1. For SIBO thyme and oregano are really great because of the natural antibacterial properties, but I use so many doTERRA supplements every day that have oils in them trying to hit the SIBO hard. For MS there are special blends and single oils out there that can aid such as DDR prime and frankincense!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment